I wrote to the zoo to send me a pet….- Dear Zoo book review

Dear Zoo By Rod Campbell

A classic that will be read for generations …

This picture book is a born classic and perfect for  storytimes for the very young. The plot is simple a  child writes to the zoo asking for a pet but each animal  they send is wrong. The elephant is too big, and the      monkey is too naughty but eventually the zoo sends an animal which is perfect. The book has lots of flaps to lift which reveals the pet and children will love shouting out the name of the animals and repeating the words. The pictures are bright and colourful and this book is bound to be asked for again and again. I recommend this book to every parent and it should be on every child’s bookshelf. Happy reading!

For linked activities try:

Class room activities from Schoolsnet

One thought on “I wrote to the zoo to send me a pet….- Dear Zoo book review

  1. My son loved this book sooo much! (I think we wore it out!). Good fun for the reader to, lots of chances for making silly animal noises too! Always brings back happy memories whe I see this book!

Leave a Reply

